Tobacco Prevention Policies

Cities across the country are stepping up for their communities by enacting local protections from vaping. There are three policy options available to cities in Douglas County including raising the tobacco age to 21, ending the sale of flavored tobacco products, and including vaping in local clean indoor air policies.

Learn more with our policy brief below and see the list of community organizations, experts, and national partners endorsing these policies.

Tobacco Prevention Policy Brief

Screen Shot 2021-04-19 at 11.36.59 AM

Your Endorsement Helps 

The LiveWell Douglas County Tobacco-Free Living Work Group, with support from the Lawrence-Douglas County Health Department, is asking businesses, organizations and individuals to endorse our tobacco-prevention initiative in Douglas County. 

Join us by emailing LiveWell's Executive Director, Marty Scott, at

Show your support by using this form to endorse LiveWell Douglas County's initiative and support tobacco-prevention policies. 

Endorsement List

Our Endorsements:

Tobacco puts the health of our kids at risk.

  • Of the 929 high school graduates in Douglas County in 2016, almost one-fourth have tried tobacco products, and about 140 are (or will become) regular users. Forty-six are likely to die of a tobacco-related illness. 
  • Until the human brain is “fully wired” at the age of 25, it is especially vulnerable to nicotine.

“I started smoking before 18, and if I would have waited ’til I was 21 and it was harder to get or something, maybe I wouldn’t have. I wish I would have never started smoking.” 

– Vincent Billam, Olathe resident, interviewed on KMBC 9 News

The Douglas County Commission was the first governing body in the county to pass Tobacco 21 legislation in 2018 when it passed a resolution to raise the minimum age to 21 to purchase tobacco products in unincorporated parts of the county. The Kansas Supreme Court in 2019 ruling also found local governments had the right to pass an implement Tobacco 21 legislation.

“I'm glad the resolution will remain in place and continue to help protect the health of our youth.” 

– Michelle Derusseau, Douglas County Commission Chair